Belajar Bahasa Inggris

Belajar Bahasa Inggris Lewat Internet

Belajar Bahasa Inggris – Pelajaran 2

with one comment

KOSAKATA

  • cash = uang tunai
  • check (kata kerja) = memeriksa
  • cross (kata kerja) = menyeberang
  • curency = mata uang
  • discretion = keleluasaan
  • exasperating = menjengkelkan
  • gold (kata sifat) = emas
  • great = sangat
  • last (kata kerja) = terakhir
  • official (kata kerja) = petugas
  • passport = paspor
  • purpose = (kata benda) = tujuan
  • soldier = prajurit
  • stamp (kata kerja) = memberi stempel
  • stay ((kata benda dan kata kerja) = tinggal
  • till, until = sampai
  • traveller cheque = cek perjalanan
  • virtue = keutamaan

NAMA-NAMA GEOGRAFIS

the Alps = Alpen
the Apennines = Apenina
the Channel = Selat Channel
the Himalayas = Himalaya
the Mediteranean = Laut Tengah
the Pyerenees = Pirenea
the Soviet Union = Uni Soviet
the Rhine = Rhin
the Tagus = Tagus
the United States = Amerika Serikat

UNGKAPAN

  • Would you mind? Apakah anda tidak keberatan? (Saya minta dengan hormat). Perhatikan bahwa kata kerja yang langsung mengikutinya (harus) di jadikan bentuk ing. Contoh: Would you mind telling me? May I see, come, go? etc. (Bolehkah saya melihat, datang, pergi? dan sebagainya.)
  • All over. (seluruh) Contoh: The child left his toys all over the floor.
  • To make sure (Tahu dengan pasti). Contoh: You must make sure that you have enough money.
  • To keep control (Mengawasi, menjaga tata tertib). Contoh: The teacher must keep control in class.

PERCAKAPAN

Officer : Would you mind telling me the purpose of your visit to England?

Harry : I’m here on business.

Barbara : Not only business, Harry. We’ve also crossed the Channel to see Peter, our son. We want to see England too. We’ve heard so much about it and then –

Officer : Yes, madam. May I see your passports?

Barbara : Of course. I suppose you want to check them and stamp them.

Officer : Yes. Thank you. How long are you staying in England, Mr. Sallis?

Harry : I don’t know exactly. Till I finish my business.

Officer : I see. And how much money have you with you?

Harry : Money?

Officer : How much in foreign currency? Is your money in cash or traveller’s cheques?

Harry : Why all these questions? You know, I’ve travelled all over the world. Up the Rhine. Across the Pyrenees. To the United States. Over the Pacific. And everywhere you officials ask the same questions. It’s exasperating!

Officer : I don’t think you undertand, sir. We have to make sure you have enough money to last you during your stay.

Harry : But why? I though discretion was the great virtue of the English. Why can’t we come and go as we wish?

Officer : You can. But there are so many people in this country already that we must keep some control.

Harry : I’m supprised you don’t want to know how many gold teeth I have!

Barbara : He can see without asking, darling!

CATATAN
PEMAKAIAN THE (2)

Perhatikan pemakaian dan dihilangkannya kata depan the berikut ini:

1. Nama-nama musim. Bila kita mengingat musim tertentu kita memakai the. I was here in the spring of 1958. Do you remember the autumn we stayed in Italy? Tapi the dihilangkan bila kita berbicara mengenai musim pada umumnya atau sebagai iklim: Summer is my favorite season. Spring is here at last!

2. Kata-kata seperti school, church, home, bed, dan sebagainya. The kita pakai dengan kata-kata tersebut bila kita lebih menitik beratkan kata-kata tersebut sebagai suatu tempat tertentu, bangunan itu. (Mementingkan gedungnya, bukan kegiatannya.) The shcool is very near the church. The bed is broken. This was the home of George Washington. Tetapi jika kita lebih tertarik kepada pemakaian secara umum atau normal, maka the kita hilangkan. I learnt history at school. We go to church every Sunday. He stays in bed till eleven o’clock every morning. That man goes home every evening.

3. Nama diri. The dihilangkan pada nama diri, nama kota, dan nama negara. Contoh: London is a large city. India is far from Italy. Tetapi untuk kali ini ada pengecualian tertentu: the biasanya dipakai pada:

  1. Nama negara. The United States. The Soviet Union. The Netherlands.
  2. Nama sungai. The Tagus runs through Spain and Portugal. The Rhine is a broad river.
  3. Nama laut, samudra, dan danau. The Atlantic. The Channel. The Mediteranean.
  4. Nama pegunungan. The Alps. The Himalaya. The Pyrenees.

KATA DEPAN

To hear about someone or something.
I’m here
on business.
Whithout asking.

Whithout adalah kata depan. Jadi, kata kerja yang langsung mengikutinya haruslah berakhiran ing. Contoh: He went without saying goodbye.

KATA KERJA TIDAK BERATURAN

PRESENT PAST PERFECT
to hear I hear I heard I have heard
to understand I understand I understood I have understood
to make I make I made I have made
to keep I keep I kept I have kept
to know I know I knew I have known

LATIHAN

1. Tambahkanlah the pada kalimat-kalimat berikut di mana perlu:

  1. … Atlantic Ocean lies between …. European and …. United States.
  2. He started … school when he was seven years old.
  3. We shall have …. lunch when we return … home.
  4. ….. capital of …. France is … Paris.
  5. In Northern countries …. summer is the hottest season.
  6. He goes walking in ….. Pyrenees in …. spring.
  7. Yesterday …. breakfast we had was excellent. We had …. bacon and … egs and …. coffee.
  8. He tallks a lot about …. love because he is lonely.
  9. ….. Apennines are in …. Italy.
  10. Surely …. cows don’t eat …. meat. They eat …. grass.

2. Letakkanlah kata-kata berikut ini pada kalimat-kalimat yang sesuai: Would you mind; looks like; on business; on earth; all over the world; feel like; to keep control; get off; get through; make sure.

  1. The manager has gone to London …..
  2. Where …. did you buy the extraordinary hat?
  3. …. opening the window?
  4. If you stand on the chair you can …. the window.
  5. …. people live in houses.
  6. do you ….. having a drink?
  7. The general finds it difficult …. of his soldiers.
  8. My friend told me to …. at the station.
  9. If you know him you can tell me what he ….
  10. ….. that he doesn’t lose the watch I gave him.

3. Letakkan kata/ungkapan would you mind di depan kata kerja pertama dari masing-masing kalimat: (Contoh: Open the window. Would you mind opening the window?)

  1. Tell me what time you are coming.
  2. Shut the door.
  3. Ask him to bring his sister.
  4. Finish your dinner.
  5. Give me a cigarette.
  6. Bring the salt.
  7. Check the cash.
  8. Help me to find his address.
  9. Pass the butter.
  10. Write a letter to him.

4. Ubahlah kata-kata kerja dalam kurung ke dalam bentuk yang benar:

  1. He left whithout (to take) his coat.
  2. She went to bed after (to eat) her dinner.
  3. On (to reach) home, Mary openned the front door.
  4. Before (to decide) we must think about it.
  5. You can help me by (to say) nothing.


    Written by 5jtpbln

    October 1, 2010 at 8:02 am

    Posted in Pelajaran

    One Response

    Subscribe to comments with RSS.

    1. […] Belajar Bahasa Inggris – Pelajaran 2 […]


    Leave a Reply

