Belajar Bahasa Inggris

Belajar Bahasa Inggris Lewat Internet

Belajar Bahasa Inggris – Pelajaran 10

with one comment

KOSAKATA

  • buzz (kata kerja) = mendengung
  • dial (kata kerja) = memutar
  • frighten (kata kerja) – membuat (seseorang) takut
  • insert (kata kerja) = memasukkan
  • lift (kata kerja) = mengangkat
  • line (telephone) = saluran (telpon)
  • nervous = gugup
  • pay tone = bunyi tanda pembayaran
  • purr (kata kerja) = mendengung
  • receiver (telephone) = alat penerima
  • receiver rest = sandaran alat penerima
  • slot (kata benda) – lubang
  • successful = berhasil

UNGKAPAN

  • The line’s gone dead. (Saluran terputus).
  • To ring off. (Mengakhiri pembicaraan telephone). Contoh: Don’t ring off yet. I haven’t told you everything.
  • I’m through. (Sambung). Contoh: Yes, I’m through now. I can hear him.
  • To get through. (Dapat tersambung). Contoh: I got through to him after dialing the right number.
  • To be cut. (Terputus). Contoh: Hold on a minute. I must fetch a pencil and paper.
  • Well done! (Bagus sekali! Hebat). Contoh: You’ve passed your exam. Well done!

PERCAKAPAN

Dengan bantuan Peter, Harry sedang berusaha menelpon koneksi bisnisnya.

Harry : Now what do I do?

Peter : You lift the receiver and dial. Then when you hear the pips — the pay tone — you insert the money.

Harry : I see. Let me try. (Ia memutar angka). I hope the man’s there. He should be. My friend said he would certainly be in London now. Oh, there’s the pay tone.

Peter : Insert the coin.

Harry : It won’t got in.

Peter : You’re trying to get into the wrong slot.

Harry : Oh dear! (Ia memasukkan uangnya ke lubang yang benar). That’s better. But now the line’s gone dead.

Peter : The probably got tired and rang off.

Harry : It’s so confusing. Would you do it, Peter?

Peter : I think you should try again yourself, then you’ll learn.

Harry : Well —

Peter : Try once more. I said I would help you and I will, but —

Harry : Yes, all right. I should learn how to do it. I remember my grandmother was so nervous. She would never use a telephone; she was frightened of it. I don’t want to think I feel the same about English telephones. Ah. I’m through! Hallo! Hallo! I’d like to speak to Mr. MacAndrew—

Peter : Well done!

Harry : He’s there. The girl told me to hold on a minute. Oh what’s happened? There’s that purring noise. We seem to be cut off again.

Peter : Yes, Father, of course you are! You put your arm down on the receiver rest. I’ll get through for you. Like most successful business man, Father, you’re helpless without secretary.

CATATAN
SHOULD DAN WOULD

Di sini kita akan membahas hal yang bertalian dengan conditional clauses (anak kalimat pengandaian): kapan Anda seharusnya memakai should dan kapan memakai would. (Perhatikan bahwa kedua kata itu kerap kali disingkat dalam percakapan menjadi: I’d come; he’d go dan sebagainya).

Should dan would untuk orang pertama

Tata bahasa kuno menerangkan bahwa should harus selalu dipakai untuk orang pertama dalam keadaan tertentu. Sebenarnya, dalam bahasa Inggris modern should dan would keduanya dipakai dengan I dan we.

Should yang berarti seharusnya

Kesulitan sesungguhnya dalam pemilihan should dan would terletap pada kenyataan bahwa should juga berarti ‘seharusnya.’

  • We should work hard, but I’m so tired.
  • I should give him a present, but I’m broke.

Oleh sebab itu dalam memilih antara should dan would dalam anak kalimat pengandaian, yang terpenting adalah menghindari keragu-raguan. Perhatikan kalimat berikut ini: I should help you but I can’t.

Jika anda ingin menghindari pengertian keharusan, maka anda harus mengatakan: I would help you but I can’t.

Perhatikan juga:

  • We should help you but we don’t know hot to. (Mungkin kami seharusnya menolong mu).
  • I should give you the money but I haven’t any. (Mungkin kami seharusnya memberikan uang itu padamu).

Dalam banyak hal tidak tercakup pengertian should yang berarti seharusnya, dan baik should maupun would boleh di pakai. I should invite you if I had enough food. Atau I would invite you if I had enough food.

Would: hasrat atau kemauan

Akan tetapi disini timbul hal lain yang penting: pemakaian would bisa menyatakan hasrat atau kemauan dari pihak pembicara. Jadi kalimat di atas akan lebih sopan bila diubah menjadi: I would invite you; maksudnya, saya juga akan suka melakukan itu.

Ringkasan

Sebagai petunjuk mengenai pemakaian should dan would untuk orang pertama, jika anda ingin menujukkan keharusan, pakailah should; jika tidak, atau jika anda ingin menyatakan hasrat atau kemauan dari pihak pembicara, pakailah would.

Would dan should untuk orang kedua dan ketiga

Untuk orang kedua dan ketiga should biasanya hanya dipakai dalam arti seharusnya:

  • You should try again.
  • He would have come if you had invited him.
  • They should have told us they were going.
  • You would be pleasanter if you had better manners.
  • You should press the marked “A”.
  • I hope the man’s there. He should be.

Kalimat tidak langsung

Pada umumnya shall menjadi should dalam kalimat tidak langsung dan will menjadi would:

Langsung : He said, “I will come.” Tidak langsung : He said that he would come.
Langsung : I insisted, “They shall finish at once.” Tidak langsung : I insisted that they should finish at once.

Tetapi disini kita juga harus berhati-hati dan menghindari keragu-raguan yang disebabkan oleh kenyataan bahwa should juga berarti ‘seharusnya’.

Langsung : He said “I shall come.” Tidak langsung : He said that he should come.

Ini bisa berarti He said that he ought to come. Maka dari itu lebih baik mengatakan, He said that he would come.

Pemakaian lain dari would

  1. Would bisa dipakai untuk menunjukkan kebiasaan yang dilakukan terus menerus di waktu lampau: She would never use a telephone. He would talk for hours.
  2. Would juga biasa dipakai untuk mengajukan pertanyaan atau permintaan, biasanya dalam kalimat-kalimat positif: Would you do it? Would you carry suitcase for a moment?

Pemakaian lain dari should

Should juga dipakai untuk menekankan keragu-raguan setelah if pada kalimat-kalimat pengandaian pada waktu sekarang: If he comes. (Ia mungkin datang). If he should come. (Ia mungkin datang, tapi rasanya tidak datang).

KATA DEPAN

  • To be frightened of something.

KATA KERJA TIDAK BERATURAN

PRESENT PAST PERFECT
to ring I ring I rang I have rung
to cut I cut I cut I have cut
to hold I hold I held I have held

LATIHAN

1. Sempurnakan kalimat-kalimat berikut dengan should dan would:

  1. You …. have seen him if you had come yesterday.
  2. He …. hurry if he wants to catch the train.
  3. I …. certainly buy you a ticket if I had any money.
  4. His employer told him he …. lose his job if he arrived late.
  5. If she had see him it’s likely that she …. have told you.
  6. This picture …. be cleaned before you put it on the wall.
  7. If he …. come it will be very surprising.
  8. We …. do anything for you because we want to.
  9. He …. go to the park every day, even when it was raining.
  10. The business man said that his secretary …. tape out the paper quickly as he needed it at once.
  11. …. you give me the newspaper please?
  12. He is the sort of person who …. say that.
  13. They …. come if they knew you were here.
  14. They …. come if they want to see him.
  15. If it …. rain we shall stay at home, but I don’t think it’s likely.
  16. You …. lift the receiver and insert the money.
  17. The costums Officer …. be kinder if you were more polite.
  18. The shopkeeper …. sell these umbrellas without difficulty as they are so cheap.
  19. I wonder if he …. come to the theatre if we asked him.
  20. You wife told you that you …. not spend so much money.

2. Ubahlah menjadi kalimat tidak langsung tanpa singkatan:

  1. “I’ll come late” she said.
  2. “Will they come later?” I asked.
  3. “She shall not take it!” the clerk said.
  4. “They will frighten the children” she said.
  5. “Does he think Harry will be successful?” she asked.
  6. “I’ll do it because I want to” I said.
  7. “I’ll do it because the teacher told me to” I said.
  8. “The dog will steal her food” said that hausewife.
  9. “We’ll dial the right number” they said.
  10. “Why will he miss the train every day?” he asked.

3. Ubahlah menjadi pertanyaan atau permintaan yang sopan dengan menggunakan mana yang cocok: would, like and please.

Contoh : 1. He wants to go. ——> He would like to go.
2. Do this for me.  ——> Would you do this for me please?

  1. Telephone the doctor.
  2. She wants to see the manager.
  3. Dial the right number!
  4. Hold on!
  5. He wants to telephone his aunt.
  6. Come to London.
  7. Lift the receiver.
  8. They want to buy a ticket.
  9. Write to me before Sunday.
  10. Hang the picture on the wall.

 

Written by 5jtpbln

October 13, 2010 at 5:37 am

Posted in Pelajaran

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. kenapa ga adakata kerja beraturan

    fikri hsan hifari

    February 16, 2011 at 6:38 am


Leave a Reply

