Belajar Bahasa Inggris

Belajar Bahasa Inggris Lewat Internet

Belajar Bahasa Inggris – Pelajaran 15

leave a comment »

KOSAKATA

  • appointment = janji
  • challenge (kata kerja) = menantang
  • diarry (business diary) = buku harian (buku harian bisnis)
  • firm (kata benda) = firma
  • intention = tujuan
  • neatly = dengan rapi
  • partrait = potret
  • severe = bengis
  • solemn = serius
  • stare (kata kerja) = menatap

UNGKAPAN

  • To take the lift (bus, train, taxi). {Naik lift (bis, kereta api, taksi)}.
  • To make oneself at home. (Menganggap seperti di rumahnya sendiri). Contoh: He put his feet up on the table and made himself at home.
  • To butt one’s head againts a (stone wall). {Membenturkan kepalanya pada (batu, tembok)} Prasa ini digunakan sebagai kiasan untuk melukiskan usaha yang pasti tidak akan berhasil karena orang yang menentukan keberhasilan usaha tersebut sangat keras kepala atau sangat teguh mempertahankan pendiriannya.
  • Old-fashioned. (Kuno). Contoh: The general has old fashioned ideas.

PERCAPAKAN

Barbara dan Harry masuk ke kantor Tuan MacAndrew.

Barbara : Oh, dear! I wish he had taken the lift.

Harry : If I had known it was so far up, I wouldn’t have suggested walking.

Secretary : Good morning. Can I help you?

Harry : I have an appointment with Mr. MacAndrew at eleven.

Secretary : What is your name, please?

Harry : Sallis.

Secretary : Are you sure it was eleven o’clock, sir? In my diary it’s eleven-thirty.

Harry : I thought we had agreed on eleven. However, it doesn’t matter.

Secretary : Well, I’ll ask Mr. MacAndrew if he can see you a little earlier. Would you go through the first door on the right, please? Do make yourself home.

Harry : Thank you—I was sure Mr. MacAndrew has agreed to see me at eleven.

Barbara : What an extraordinary room! Look at all those portraits on the wall!

Harry : Extraordinay—I agree with you! Who do you think they are?

Barbara : Old directors of the firm, I suppose. They all look so severe. I had expected something unususal—but—

Harry : Look at their black umbrellas, folded neatly by their sides. They all seem to be staring at us.

Barbara : And now you’re going to challenge all this with your new invention.

Harry : Well, that’s my intention. But frankly this place frigthens me. Looking all those old gentlemen on the wall, I feel I’m just a poor foreigner with a crazy ide, butting his head againts a wall of old-fashioned umbrellas!

CATATAN
BENTUK SELESAI WAKTU LAMPAU (THE PAST PERFECT)

Bentuk ini menyatakan suatu tindakan yang sudah selesai sebelum saat lain di waktu lampau. Bila ada dua tindakan yang telah terjadi di waktu lampau, had + past participle menunjukkan tindakan mana yang terjadi lebih dahulu.

  • The director had finished when the clerk came in.
  • Luckily we had eaten our lunch before the rain came.
  • He had done his homework by the time the class began.

Dengan alasan ini, bentuk selesai waktu lampau sangat sering dipakai dengan kalimat tak langsung pada waktu lampau:

  • My friend said he had made an appointment at eleven.
  • She told me the boy had stared at her.
  • The clerk said he had lost his diary.

I wish, I thought, I expected

Bentuk selesai waktu lampau dipakai bila suatu keinginan tak terpenuhi. Dipakai pula sesudah perkiraan yang salah di waktu lampau:

  • I wish we had taken the lift. (But we didn’t).
  • I was sure he had agreed to see me. (But he hadn’t).

Syarat yang tidak terpenuhi

Bentuk selesai waktu lampau juga dipakai sesudah if jika suatu syarat tidak terpenuhi, di waktu lampau:

  • If he had known it was so far I wouldn’t have walked.
  • If your brother has suggested it earlier we could have done it.
  • If the king had been intelegent he would have succeeded.

Perhatikan perbedaan antara to look dan to look at:

  • They all look (seem) so severe.
  • The general looks (appears) angry.
  • He looked at his watch.
  • Look at all those solemn portraits on the wall.

Tetapi dalam kalimat perintah, Look! artinya sama dengan Look at! Contoh: Look! Here’s the bus!

KATA DEPAN

  • On the right, left.
  • To agree with a person about something.
  • I agree with what you say.
  • We had agreed on a time.

LATIHAN

1. Lengkapilah dengan bentuk selesai waktu lampau dari kata kerja yang terdapat di dalam kurung:

  1. He enjoyed the meal after he (to work) so hard.
  2. I said I was sorry I (to forget) his name.
  3. They only came after I (to write) three times.
  4. They were glad that they (to climb) the hill.
  5. After they (to go) I went to see the doctor.
  6. When he arrived the game already (to start).
  7. He said I (to meet) him two years before.
  8. They were surprised at what I (to do).

2. Ubahlah menjadi kalimat tak langsung:

  1. “I have already been to London,” she said.
  2. “Why haven’t you told me before?” I asked her.
  3. “What has happened to your hand?” I asked him.
  4. “Mary has always loved him,” I said.
  5. “Who did that?” I asked John.

3. Isilah dengan bentuk kata kerja yang betul:

  1. If I (to see) you earlier I would have told you.
  2. I wish you (to tell) me earlier.
  3. They thought that I (to eat) but I was actually very hungry.
  4. They would have come if you (to telephone) them.
  5. If they (to have) the money they could have gone by car.

4. Ubahlah kata kerja dalam kurung menjadi bentuk lampau (contoh: I did), bentuk selesai (contoh: I have done), atau bentuk selesai waktu lampau (contoh: I had done):

  1. She wished Peter (organise) the dance.
  2. The foreigners just (leave) the queue and are waiting here.
  3. I (see) the cliffs when I crossed the Channel.
  4. John (get) off the train and was standing on the platform.
  5. The ship (leave) for France yesterday.
  6. If we (settle) in that country we would not be happy.
  7. I’m too late. The bus (go).
  8. If you (argue) they would not have taken it away.
  9. I hope you (bring) your baggage.
  10. They thought the bee (sting) her.

 

Written by 5jtpbln

October 18, 2010 at 4:17 am

Posted in Pelajaran

Leave a Reply

