Belajar Bahasa Inggris

Belajar Bahasa Inggris Lewat Internet

Belajar Bahasa Inggris – Pelajaran 26

leave a comment »

KOSAKATA

  • chilhood = masa kecil
  • connected with = ada hubungannya dengan
  • depen (on) (kata kerja) = bergantung (pada)
  • exactly = dengan tepat
  • future (kata benda) = masa depan
  • line (in the hand) = garis (di tangan)
  • meaning = arti
  • palm (of the hand) = telapan (tangan)
  • past (kata benda) = masa lalu
  • pretend = menganggap diri, berpura-pura
  • risk (kata benda) = resiko
  • speech (way of speaking) = logat (cara berbicara)
  • upwards = ke atas
  • will (kata benda) = kehendak

UNGKAPAN

  • Against your will. (Bertentangan dengan kehendak mu). Contoh: They made him give away his money againts his will.
  • To leave no doubt. (Tidak meragukan, cukup jelas). Contoh: Your answer no doubt about what you think.

PERCAKAPAN

Harry sedang berbicara dengan peramal nasib

Fortune-teller : I can see that you come from distant country.

Harry : Well, I’ve never pretended to speak English like an Englishman.

Fortune-teller : Ah, but your hand, not your speak, told me that. I think you speak English perfectly.

Harry : (Tersanjung). Well, thank you

Harry : No. That’s certainly true.

Fortune-teller : Indeed you had moments of great unhappiness.

Harry : (Kagum). Yes, I suppose I did — that’s quite right.

Fortune-teller : And many people made you do things againts your will.

Harry : Yes, you’re certainly right there. My parents often stoped me doing things I liked.

Fortune- teller : Yes, your past is very clear. You —

Harry : But I want you to tell me about the future. Tell me: do you see anything in my hand about umbrellas?

Fortune-teller : Umbrellas? Let me see. Well, of course, I can see you using an umbrella quite a lot during your stay in England.

Harry : (Dengan sedih). But otherwise they don’t come into my life at all.

Fortunet-teller : Umbrellas. Hm. It is diffiicult of course to see umbrellas in a palm.

Harry : But what about success? Can I depend on it? Dare I take any risk?

Fortune-teller : Ah, well, that’s different?

Harry : Oh dear! Completely different?

Fortune-teller : Let me see. Ah yes, it is clear. You will have an amazing success connected with umbrellas, probably. You will become very rich. Very rich indeed! I was now see clearly; the way it moves upwards leaves no doubts.

Harry : (Gembira). Well, that’s wonderful!

Fortune-teller : Yes, your hands shows clearly that you are connected with the umbrella business.

Harry : Does it? It’s amazing what the hand can show. You are really clever.

CATATAN
UPWARDS, DOWNWARDS, DAN SEBAGAINYA

Untuk menyatakan gerakan dalam arah tegak lurus kita menggunakan upwars dan downwards.

  • The smoke went upwards.
  • Look at the way this line in your palm moves upwards.
  • He moved his arm downwards from his head.

Perhatikan juga forwards, backwards, towards, dan sideways.

  • When you see the enemy, move fordwards not backwards!
  • He walked towards the house but stopped before he got there.
  • He looked sideways at her.
  • A train never moves sideways.

REVISI

Percakapan di atas berisi bermacam-macam kalimat yang menunjukkan pokok-pokok yang sudah kita kenal dalam pelajaran 14 – 25. Kalimat-kalimat itu dapat dilihat pada daftar dibawah ini, dan sebagian besar berhubungan dengan kata kerja. Perhatikan masing-masing kalimat, dan cobalah menjawab pertanyaan-pertanyaan di bawah. Kemudian periksalah kembali pelajaran yang bersangkutan dan pelajarilah dengan seksama.

1. KATA KERJA DAN KATA KERJA

(a) Kata kerja + to + infinitif:

  • I’ve never pretended to speak English.

Banyak kata kerja bahasa Inggris yang digabungkan dengan cara ini.

(b) Kata kerja + akusatif + infinitif:

  • I want you to tell me about the future.

Perhatikan bahwa kata-kata kerja yang menyatakan keinginan (wish, desire, dan sebagainya) harus diikuti oleh akusatif dan infinitif dan tidak diikuti oleh bentuk pengandaian.

(c) Kata kerja + infinitif tanpa to:

  • I can see that you come from a distant country.

Dapatkan anda mengingat lima kata kerja lain yang menggunakan infinitif to? (Pelajaran 16). Kapankah need bisa menggunakan infitinitf tanpa to? (Pelajaran 18).

(d) Kata kerja + akusatif + infinitif tanpa to:

  • Let me tell you …..
  • Most people made you do things againts your will.

Apakah make menggunakan akusatif dan infinitif tanpa to dalam bentuk pasif? (Pelajaran 16).

(e) Kata kerja + bentuk ing:

Beberapa kata kerja diikuti oleh bentuk ing:

  • My parents often stoped me doing things I liked.

Apakah anda bisa mengingat empat kata kerja yang juga harus diikuti oleh bentuk ing?

(f) Kata kerja +  bentuk ing atau infinitif tanpa to:

Beberapa kata kerja menggunakan bentuk ing atau infinitif tanpa to:

  • I saw him climbing the wall.
  • I saw him climb the wall.

Apakah perbedaan antara kedua kalimat di atas itu? (Pelajaran 16).

2. TO DARE

  • Dare I take any risk?

Apa saja arti I daresay? Apakah dare mempunyai arti lain di samping arti dalam contoh di atas? (Pelajaran 17).

3. BENTUK SEDANG

Beberapa kata kerja tidak pernah dipakai dengan bentuk sedang. Contoh: see:

  • Now I see clearly.

Dalam pelajaran 24 tercantum 38 kata kerja golongan ini. Berapa banyak yang bisa anda ingat? Bilakah kata kerja to be bisa dipakai dalam bentuk sedang? (Pelajaran 24).

4. KATA DEPAN YANG MENYATAKAN WAKTU

  • I can see you using your umbrella during your stay in England.

Ingatkah anda perbedaan antara pemakaian since dan ago sebagai kata depan yang menyatakan waktu? (Pelajaran 19).

5. LETAK KATA KETERANGAN

Kebanyakan kata keterangan dalam bahasa Inggris letaknya di belakang kata kerja jika kata kerjanya tidak mempunyai objek langsung, atau di akhir kalimat:

  • I think you speak English perfectly.

Kapankah susunan yang lazim untuk kata keterangan waktu, kata keterangan cara, dan kata keterangan tempat bila kata-kata tersebut terdapat dalam satu kalimat? Di manakah letak kata keterangan frekuensi seperti often, never, dan sebagainya? (Pelajaran 14).

KATA DEPAN

  • We are connected with Mr. Smith because my aunt married his brother.
  • I can always depend on my friend, Peter.

ULANGAN

Setelah anda mengulang pelajaran 14 – 25, cobalah anda mengerjakan tes berikut. Untuk masing-masing jawaban yang betul nilainya satu, dengan kemungkinan anda akan mendapat nilai seluruhnya 120. Jika anda mendapat nilai kurang dari 60, anda harus mengulang pelajaran-pelajaran itu lagi dengan seksama.

1. Isilah dengan kata depan atau partikel kata keterangan yang betul. Berilah nilai satu untuk setiap jawaban yang betul.

  1. The boy broke the window …. purpose.
  2. We stood …. top of the hill …. sunset.
  3. The characters in this play are based …. real people.
  4. I agree …. you that we should arrive exaclty …. time.
  5. The house belongs …. my father.
  6. …. the way, did/you finish it …. time for Christmas.
  7. I didn’t ring …. We were cut …. !
  8. A cow was standing in a field …. the left …. the road.
  9. The soldier gave …. hope.
  10. It depends …. how much money you have saved.
  11. He translated the book from English …. French.
  12. Many thanks …. your help. Our success calls …. a celebration.
  13. He is calling …. an old friend …. London.
  14. This food isn’t good …. your dog.
  15. The plane took …. yesterday.
  16. You will soon find yourself …. print.
  17. She makes …. before going …. with her boy friend.
  18. You speak well …. a foreigner.
  19. I shall have done it …. six o’clock.
  20. They shouldn’t make you do it …. your will.
  21. While I was away …. home, my brohter kept …. the garden.

2. Tempatkan kata-kata keterangan dalam kurung pada tempat yang paling sesuai:

  1. I smoke cigarettes after lunch (never).
  2. Yesterday she sang at the concert (beautifully).
  3. They would walk through the park (often).
  4. We did our homework quickly every evening (at home). He is in a bad temper in the morning (always).

3. Ubahlah kata-kata kerja dalam kurung menjadi bentuk yang betul:

  1. I wish we (bring) our umbrellas.
  2. At this time tomorrow she (take) her exam.
  3. If you help me I (help) you.
  4. Her father daren’t (tell) her the news.
  5. Harry (feel) tired when he met me.
  6. Harry now (feel) that he made a mistake.
  7. I (to be) in your office since four o’clock.
  8. The policeman tried (arrest) the thief, but didn’t succeed.
  9. Luckily the clerk (work) at the very moment his employer entered.
  10. The clerk (recognize) him when he entered.
  11. We enjoyed (meet) you very much.
  12. He (teach) when I went into the classroom.
  13. Will you (stop) making a fool of yourself!
  14. He finished (write) at dawn.
  15. If you (remember) that verb you would have passed the exam.
  16. Why doesn’t he try (travel) by air and see if he likes it?
  17. The farmer’s wife had always enjoyed (walk) in the country.
  18. Need we (pay) the service charge?
  19. The business man stopped in the street (buy) a newspaper.
  20. They won’t print the book until it (to be) corrected.
  21. The manager thinks he (open) a new hotel next month.
  22. I wish I (to be) as clever as he is.
  23. We’d better not (disappoint) him.
  24. Please don’t keep (talk).
  25. They not (need) manded the car. I could have done it myself.
  26. The postman already (bring) the letters before you started breakfast.
  27. She persuaded him (make) a long journey.
  28. As he watched them (play) the football match it started to rain.
  29. If he (grumble) less I should like him better.
  30. Now I (understand).

4. Isilah dengan make atau do dalam kalimat-kalimat berikut:

  1. Of course we can …. without a car if necessary.
  2. He …. a fortune by selling umbrellas.
  3. It’s an unpleasant situation but …. the most of it!
  4. You mistake …. me a lot of harm.
  5. …. up your buttons at once!
  6. …. up a story for me please.
  7. They refused to …. us this favour.
  8. As a film star you will certainly …. a lot of money.
  9. That will …. ! You’ve already said too much.
  10. The house is very small but it will …. for the moment.

5. Isilah ungkapan-ungkapan ini ke dalam kalimat-kalimat berikut, ubahlah setiap ungkapan-ungkapan itu bila diperlukan: to get in the way; to grow old; castles in the air; by the way; Goodness; help yourself; to go wrong; a service charge; to be worth; to take the lift.

  1. Oh …. did you remember to bring my scarf?
  2. Our old car was always ….
  3. As we live at the top of the building you’d better ….
  4. As he’s …. he can’t climb mountains any more.
  5. …. ! What a horrible story.
  6. Please …. to cottage pie.
  7. If you will build …. you are sure to be disappointed.
  8. As he was running down the street a dog …. and he tripped up.
  9. I don’t think it …. changing everything for no reason.
  10. In most hotels you have to pay ….

6. Ubahlah obyeknya menjadi kata ganti dan tulislah lagi kata ganti tersebut pada tempat yang betul. Perhatikan perbedaan antara kata depan dan partikel kata keterangan:

Contoh: He looked up the word.
He looked it up.

  1. He gave up his job.
  2. The bird flew over the sea.
  3. The writrer made up a story.
  4. He climbed up the mountain.
  5. Why don’t you take off your hat?
  6. It’s difficult to make out the island.
  7. He jumped off the roof.
  8. My friend kept up your garden.
  9. The thief ran down the street.
  10. The business man saved up his money.

7. Ubahlah kata kerja tak beraturan dalam kurung menjadi bentuk lampau atau bentuk selesai sebagaimana mestinya:

  1. I (to mean) what I said yesterday.
  2. My uncle (to keep) the shoes he is wearing now for five years.
  3. We (to drive) down to London last June.
  4. My uncle who died last year never had a car. He always (to ride) a horse instead.
  5. She (to begin) writing this novel four years ago.
  6. The roses in the millionaire’s garden (to smell) beautiful when we were there.
  7. We (to shake) thousands of people by the hand in our lifetime.
  8. He (to hang) up his coat in the hall and went into the dining-room.
  9. I am very angry because he (to shot) my dog.
  10. You (to meet) my friend Peter yesterday?

8. Ubahlah kalimat-kalimat berikut ke dalam bentuk negatif yang menggunakan do, does, atau did hanya bila diperlukan:

  1. The farmer has had a bumper crop.
  2. We had lunch late yesterday.
  3. These sheep have to be given more food.
  4. The attendant has got your suitcase.
  5. Have you got to finish your work?

9. Isilah dengan the bila diperlukan:

  1. I’ll see you …. next Saturday I hope.
  2. It was …. last year of the century.
  3. …. Tuesday will be the best day for us.
  4. He sat down at …. top of the hill.
  5. Do you remember …. Sunday when we all went to the country?

10. Isilah dengan since, for atau ago sebagaimana mestinya:

  1. He was born many years ….
  2. Mary has been in Germany …. four years.
  3. …. you arrived everything has been terrible.
  4. I shall be staying with you …. the Christmas holidays.
  5. She hasn’t seen him …. last month.

 

Written by 5jtpbln

October 28, 2010 at 4:08 am

Posted in Pelajaran

Leave a Reply

