Belajar Bahasa Inggris

Belajar Bahasa Inggris Lewat Internet

Belajar Bahasa Inggris – Pelajaran 28

leave a comment »

KOSAKATA

  • activity = kegiatan
  • adjustmen = penyetelan
  • assure = meyakinkan
  • brandy = brendi
  • broker = pedagang/perantara
  • capital (business) = modal (bisnis)
  • cigar = cerutu
  • commercially = secara komersial
  • float (kata kerja) = melayang
  • handkerchief sapu tangan
  • hurriedly – tergopoh-gopoh
  • lend (kata kerja) = meminjami/meminjamkan
  • market (kata benda dan kata kerja) = pasar/memasarkan
  • pocket = saku
  • profits = keuntungan/laba
  • whisk(e)y = wiski

UNGKAPAN

  • To come onto the market. (Muncul di pasaran). Contoh: You can buy these new cigars now. They have just come onto the market.
  • To go or come in with someone. (In business). {Bekerja sama (dalam bisnis)}. Contoh: Soon after he started the shop he asked to me come in with him.
  • The trouble is that …. (Susahnya adalah bahwa ….) Contoh: The trouble is that he refuses to work.
  • I can assure you it’s nothing. (Saya jamin itu tidak apa-apa).

PERCAKAPAN

Harry baru saja makan siang dengan Tuan Davidson, pedagang perantara yang diperkenalkan padanya oleh Tuan Hardcastle.

Davidson : Well, that was an excellent lunch. Thank you. And I’m most interested in your umbrella. I think it’s amazing the way you can get it into your pocket — as if it were a handkerchief.

Harry : You noticed how everyone in the street was very interested when I gave that demonstration before lunch? Did you hear that man say he would be one of the first people to get one when it come onto the market?

Davidson : Oh, I don’t think you’ll have any difficulty in getting it accepted commercially. Why, if I had the capital I’d go in with you myself.

Harry : Are you quite certain you can’t? We shouldn’t need so much capital, and the profits would be large.

Davidson : No, the trouble is that I’ve too much to do already. I can’t even get through all the work I have at the moment.

Harry : (Kecewa). Hmm —

Davidson : By the way, would you like a cigar?

Harry : No thanks, I don’t smoke very much. Well, what do you suggest?

Davidson : I think the best thing for you to do is to go and see these brokers I know. I got a very friendly letter from them this morning. Perhaps you can write to them. I’ll give you their address, and you can write to them. Meanwhile, I’ll get through to them on the phone.

Harry : Surely, though, it would be worth getting rid of some of your other activities.

Davidson : Perhaps. But it would be difficult. Well, thanks again. I must be getting along.

Harry : You wouldn’t like a brandy or a whisky?

Davidson : No, I’d better not. I’ll have to get a taxi it is, to lake me to the station. I have to get to London by five. (Tiba-tiba). Oh! What’s happening?

Harry : Oh dear! There goes my umbrella.

Davidson : Goodness! It’s floating up to the ceiling.

Harry : It must have inflated in my pocket.

Davidson : Well, that certainly is a disadvantage!

Harry : (Dengan tergopoh-gopoh). Oh, no, please don’t get worried. I can assure you it’s nothing. It’s nothing. It’s probably the button. It just need adjustment!

CATATAN
TO GET

Dalam bahasa Inggris, kata kerja ini sukar sebab mempunyai arti yang begitu banyak. Inilah beberapa arti pokok:

1. Kita boleh mengatakan bahwa arti dasar get adalah ‘to obtain‘, memperoleh:

  • I’ll have to get a taxi.
  • Did you get the house you wanted?
  • She got him a present for his birthday.

2. Anda mungkin ingat dari Pelajaran 17 bagaimana got dipakai dengan to have untuk menyatakan kepunyaan:

  • I have got a pencil.
  • He has got a car.

Di sini ide pokoknya juga ‘I have obtained this‘ dan dengan demikian menjadi milik saya. To get mempunyai beberapa arti lain yang merupakan variasi dari ide ‘to abtain.’

3. To receive, menerima:

  • I got a very friendly letter from them.
  • He got the handkerchief I sent him.
  • When did you get the news?

4. To fetch, mengambil:

  • How about a cigar? Let me get you one.
  • Will you get my umbrella from the hall?
  • Can you get me some cigarettes while you’re in the village?

5. Seain ‘to obtain‘, to get juga mempunyai arti ‘to become‘ (menjadi) bila dipakai dengan kata sifat di belakangnya:

  • Please don’t get worried.
  • Harry is getting a little old.
  • He got very angry.

6. Arti yang lain lagi yaitu ‘to go‘ tapi itu biasanya menyatakan kesukaran. To get into the house, menyatakan bahwa tidak mudah memasukinya. To get juga dipakai dalam arti ‘to go‘ bila gerakannya meliputi gerakan naik atau turun seperti yang dilakukan tatkala masuk atau keluar dari kendaraan, kapal, pesawat terbang, dan sebagainya.

  • The Frenchman got off the train.
  • We can’t got onto the ship.
  • Get into the taxi.

7. To reach. Dipakai dengan gerakan seperti di atas, to get dengan to berarti ‘to reach‘.

  • I must get to London by five.
  • She didn’t get to our house till after lunch.
  • Did you get to the station on time?

8. To cause. Bila diikuti oleh past participle dari kata kerja lain, get mempunyai arti mempengaruhi atau mengatur agar sesuatu dilakukan — biasanya oleh orang lain. Jika anda ingat dari Pelajaran 21 have bisa dipakai dengan cara yang sama:

  • I got my coat cleaned.
  • I had my coat cleaned.
  • You won’t find it difficult to get it accepted.
  • We got it done by half past seven.

Jika orang yang disuruh mengerjakan aktivitas tertentu itu disebutkan, to get diikuti oleh akusatif dan infinitif:

  • You can get them to lend you some money.
  • Get him to come here at once.

9. Ungkapan. Sebagai ungkapan, get dipakai dengan kata depan atau partikel kata keterangan:

  • The bird we caught has got away, and we can’t find it anywhere.
  • Please get out of the way, or the car will hit you.
  • I must be getting along. It’s late.
  • You’re always getting into trouble, which is why your father is so angry with you.
  • Surely it would be worth getting rid of some of your activities.

Get dengan kata depan atau kata keterangan dapat mempunyai beberapa arti sesuai dengan situasi yang berlainan:

(a) We can’t get through these crowds.
I can’t get through all my work. I haven’t time.
I’ll get through to them on the phone.

(b) My sister always gets up at seven every morning.
He got up onto the table.

KATA DEPAN

Perhatikan: I had difficult in getting it accepted. Untuk membedakan, perhatikan pemakaian infinitif sesudah kata sifat difficult: It’s difficult to say.

LATIHAN

1. Gantilah kata kerja yang dicetak tebal dengan bentuk get yang benar. Ubahlah kalimat tersebut jika perlu:

  1. Fetch me a pencil, will you?
  2. Can you have my suit mended?
  3. He’s becoming very lazy these days.
  4. I hope we don’t become lost.
  5. John and Mary were married last month.
  6. Did you receive an invitation to Harry’s party?
  7. He has become so rich that he now owns two cars.
  8. Quickly, climb into the train.
  9. What time does the aeroplane reach Paris?
  10. He had diffiicultt in entering the house.
  11. The general made him come at twelve. (Hati-hati cara menggunakan infinitif.).
  12. His father bought her a doll at Christmas.
  13. Will you have the book finished by next week?
  14. I must be leaving. It’s late.
  15. He possesses a beautiful house.

2. Gantilah kata kerja get dalam kalimat-kalimat ini dengan kata kerja lain yang sama artinya:

  1. When you go to the market will you get me some eggs?
  2. I don’t want to go but I’ve got to.
  3. Did you get my letter?
  4. I got the dress cleaned by the maid.
  5. It will be difficult to get over the wall.
  6. When do you expect to get to London?
  7. I got very cold waiting outside.
  8. The millionaire’s wife has got a lot of diamonds.
  9. He got the mechanic to help him.
  10. I must be getting along.

3. Isilah ungkapan-ungkapan berikut ke dalam kalimat-kalimat yang tepat, dan buatlah penyesuaian bila diperlukan: to get up; to get rid; to get in the way; to be getting along; to get through; to get into trouble; to get used to; to get out of; had better; quite right:

  1. She …… the train and come towards me.
  2. We must …… as our last but leaves in five minutes.
  3. I tried to …… to him on the phone but there was no answer.
  4. When they are on holiday they …… at ten o’clock every morning.
  5. You must …… of your secretary if she refuses to work.
  6. She …… with the police because she drove into a shop window.
  7. You are cleaver! All your answer are ……
  8. The ballon …… of the aeroplane which had just taken off.
  9. They …… be careful as they can be overhead.
  10. The student couldn’t …… living abroad.

 

Written by 5jtpbln

October 30, 2010 at 4:24 am

Posted in Pelajaran

Leave a Reply

