Belajar Bahasa Inggris

Belajar Bahasa Inggris Lewat Internet

Belajar Bahasa Inggris – Pelajaran 37

leave a comment »

KOSAKATA

  • add (kata kerja) = menambah
  • bicyclist = pengendara sepeda
  • catch on = menjadi terkenal
  • compare = membandingkan
  • deflate = mengempiskan
  • drip (kata kerja) = menetes
  • enormous = sangat besar
  • fuse (electrical/failure) = korsleting
  • interviewer = pewawancara
  • knock over (kata kerja) = menabrak
  • neat = rapi
  • over, to be = selesai
  • pour (kata kerja) = menyiram
  • pass (over) (kata kerja) = mengambilkan
  • soak (kata kerja) = membasahi
  • storm (kata kerja) = menyerang
  • stun (kata kerja) = mengejutkan
  • switch (kata kerja) = memindahkan
  • turn up (radio, dsb) (kata kerja) = mengeraskan
  • wire (kata benda) = kabel

UNGKAPAN

  • He’s on. (Sedang beraksi, bermain). Contoh: My favorite film star’s on again at the cinema this week.
  • To take a long time. (Memakan waktu lama). Contoh: It takes a long time to write a book.
  • To hit upon. (Menemukan). Contoh: He hit upon the answer to the problems as he was having a bath.
  • To go into the matter. (Menyelidiki hal itu). Contoh: As we weren’t sure, we went into the matter, and then understood everything.

PERCAKAPAN

Barbara dan Peter sedang menonton penampilan Harry di televisi.

Peter : If father keeps on talking like this I’m sure he’ll win a prize. But it’s a pity he waves his hands about so much.

Barbara : If you want to talk, turn up the sound. Otherwise I can’t hear. Oh, listen now. Harry’s on again.

Harry : Could someone please pass over the umbrellas? Thank you. Now this one in a small evelope is mine and the others, as you can see, is an old-fashioned umbrella. You see mine goes up in a second when I just press the button. The other takes quite long time. Again, feel how light mine is compared with the other one.

Interviewer : Yes, it’s certainly much lighter.

2nd & 3rd Interviewers : Much lighter.

Harry : Now we’ll pour some water over each umbrella …. As you can see, when we put down the old-fashioned umbrella it drips all over the floor while my umbrella deflates it drips a rubber envelope which is still dry.

Inverviewer : Yes.

Harry : And a part from everything else, look how neat and beautiful my umbrella is compared with the old fashioned one.

Interviewer : Yes. Now, Mr. Sallis, can you tell me how you first hit upen the idea of the inflatable Umbrella?

Harry : Well, one afternoon I was caught in a rain storm and my old fashioned umbrella wouldn’t open at first so that I was soaked through. Then as I was getting it open it got cought in my raincoat and as I was struggling with it in front of my face, a bicyclist I hadn’t been able to see knocked me over. Finally, when I got home it was so wet that water dripped through the floor in the hall onto an electric wire, and when my son put on the light there was a fuse. After that I decided it was time to invent something new.

Interviewer : And so you went into the matter? How long was it before you found the answer?

Harry : Oh, I went on working for months. Then one day I got it. I went back home and celebrated.

Barbara : Harry’s certainly speaking well. But I do wish he wouldn’t wave his arms about so much with the umbrella still in his hand!

Interviewer : And if I might ask, Mr. Sallis, why did you come over to Britain instead of manufacturing your umbrella in your own country?

Harry : Well, Britain after all is the real home of umbrellas.

Interviewer : I see. Now, Mr. Sallis, have you anything else to add?

Harry : Only that I feel this idea would certainly catch on once people know about it. It will make an enormous — Oh! I’m terribly sorry.

Peter : Goodness! He’s hit one of the interviewers in the face with his inflated umbrella!

Barbara : I told you he shouldn’t wave his hands about!

Peter : The poor interviewer seems quite stunned.

Barbara : Well! There’ll be no prize for Harry! It’s all over now!

CATATAN
PARTIKEL KATA KETERANGAN

Jika anda masih belum tahu cara menggunakan partikel kata keterangan lihatlah kembali Pelajaran 21. Di bawah ini ada contoh lagi, terutama: on, over, off dan back.

ON

Partikel kata keterangan on dengan keep, go dan banyak kata kerja yang menyatakan perbuatan mengandung arti terus menerus:

  • If father keeps on talking it will be all right.
  • It went on raining.
  • He ran on through the fields.
  • The students read on till he was tired.

To be on bisa berarti bahwa sesuatu sedang dipentaskan di panggung. Pengertian ini telah dialihkan ke pertunjukan yang lain: Film, Televisi, dan sebagainya.

  • Harry’s on now.
  • What’s on at the cinema?
  • There’s a good play on at the Lyric (Theatre).

On dipakai pula dengan kata-kata kerja turn, put, atau switch dalam hubungannya dengan mesin atau lampu:

  • When I put on the light there was a fuse.
  • Did you turn the electric fire on?
  • The mechanic switched on the engine.
  • Don’t put on the radio. I want to read.
  • We turned on the television and sat down.

Perhatikan on dalam ungkapan: to catch on (menjadi populer).

  • This idea would certainly catch on.
  • The new invention caught on.

OFF

Off dipakai dengan put, switch atau turn dengan pengertian mematikan lampu atau mematikan mesin:

  • I turned off the radio and the light.
  • Put off the electric fire and the television.
  • The mechanic switched off the engine.

OVER

Sebagai partikel kata keterangan over sering berarti gerakan ke bawah dari posisi tegak:

  • A bicyclist knocked him over.
  • The little boy pushed the glass over.
  • The car ran him over.

Over mungkin juga menyatakan gerakan di atas sesuatu. Jika misalnya pada waktu makan anda agak jauh dari seseorang, maka anda akan berkata: Pass over the bread please… Harry berkata: Could someone please pass over the umbrella? Sekali lagi, jika anda mempunyai keinginan untuk pergi melintasi laut, pegunungan, dan sebagainya, anda menggunakan over sebagai kata keterangan:

  • He came over to Britain last year.
  • Aren’t you going over to the United States soon?
  • He went over to the other side of the street.

Over juga dipakai sebagai kata keterangan untuk menyatakan bahwa sesuatu telah dipakai:

  • It’s all over!
  • Isn’t the play over yet.
  • When my holidays are over I shall work hard.

BACK

Back dengan go atau come, seperti yang mungkin sudah anda ketahui, berarti kembali:

  • I went back home.
  • You should go back to your own country.

Back juga bisa dipakai dengan banyak kata kerja lain, dengan pengertian yang serupa:

  • He was so angry that he gave me back all my presents.
  • You must fight back if he attacks you.
  • You can send my book back by return?
  • We cought back to the days of our childhood.
  • He looked back and saw the officer following him.

UP DAN DOWN

Kita juga menggunakan up sebagai partikel kata keterangan di dalam percakapan itu:

  • Turn up the sound.
  • Please turn up the radio.

Kebalikannya tentu saja adalah down:

  • Please turn down the radio.

TO CATCH

Ada dua pemakaian to catch yang berbeda dalam percakapan itu:

  • One afternoon I was caught in the storm.
  • My umbrella got caught in my raincoat.

LATIHAN

1. Gantilah kata-kata yang dicetak tebal dengan kata kerja yang tepat pada daftar berikut ini: come over; knock over; go back; fight back; send back; go into; run over; catch on; turn on; go on:

  1. I can’t hear. Please increase the sound.
  2. He continued playing the piano all night.
  3. Oh, dear! I’ve juts upset the glass.
  4. My young brother was hit by a car in the main street.
  5. He returned to his old school.
  6. I’ll examine the whole question in the morning.
  7. If we area attacked we must not give up.
  8. Your idea is sure to be popular.
  9. Please return the book by post.
  10. I travelled to Britain three months ago.

2. Isikanlah kata yang hilang:

  1. I can’t see. Please put …… the light.
  2. He suddently turned …… the light and left us in the dark.
  3. He went …… talking for three hours.
  4. It’s too laud. Turn it ……
  5. He asked the American to come …… to France.
  6. Can you hear that music? Someone has switched …… the radio.
  7. I have no time now. But I’ll go …… the matter tomorrow.
  8. You must go …… to the beginning.
  9. Could you pass …… my coat?
  10. He was knocked …… by a car.
  11. I wish he wouldn’t wave his hands ……
  12. I’m sure this new film will catch ……
  13. Did you see Peter …… television last night?
  14. When the radio play was …… we went to bed.
  15. What’s …… at the cinema tonight?

3. Letakkan ungkapan-ungkapan berikut dalam kalimat-kalimat yang cocok, lakukan penyesuaian bila diperlukan: hit upon; as long as; with all due respect; in power; all sorts; in good condition; to ask the way; on my behalf; to work out; up to.

  1. We were lost in London so we ……
  2. Robert …… a new way of producing electricity.
  3. This goverment has been …… for four years.
  4. Let’s hope everything will …… for the best.
  5. We met …… of peopel on our journey.
  6. There are seats for …… forty people in the aeroplane.
  7. …… I think you are wrong.
  8. …… You feel well can go for a walk.
  9. As I am ill, will you please speak …… at the meeting?
  10. The house was expensive but it was …… when we bought it.

 

Written by 5jtpbln

November 9, 2010 at 4:57 am

Posted in Pelajaran

Leave a Reply

